Subscribe for KSCPOST updates September 25, 2018
KSCPOST Header Image Left Flag Header Image

KSCPOST Badge Menu

COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

INTEGRITY BULLETINS

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

MEDIA RELEASES

OPEN RECORDS ACT

RELATED LINKS

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

NOTE: Many of these questions can be answered by reviewing the In-Service Training Guidelines.

TRAINING

When are officers obligated to receive 40 hours of training?

Full-time law enforcement officers become obligated to receive 40 hours of annual law enforcement training beginning the second full year after certification.

What does “the second full year after certification” mean?

The Central Registry operates on a fiscal year basis. In other words, the “training year” for in-service training compliance purposes runs from July 1 through June 30th.

If an officer graduates from KLETC on May 1st of 2009, that officer would not be obligated to the 40 hours training requirement until July 1st, 2010.

Who must comply with this law?

All Certified full-time Kansas officers. This includes full time officers who fit into any of these categories:

  • “Grandfathered” Officers. Those who received permanent appointments as full-time police officers or law enforcement officers prior to July 1, 1969

  • Kansas Academy Graduates. Officers who graduated from a basic course of instruction offered at the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center, or a certified state or local law enforcement training school.

  • “Reciprocity Certified” Officers. Officers who received their initial certification from another state and who have been granted reciprocity certification by the Director of Police Training pursuant to KSA 75-5608a.

  • Railroad Officers. Officers employed by railroads in Kansas who do not qualify for the federal certification exemption.

Who has the responsibility to see that an officer receives the required 40 hours of in-service training?

KSA 74-5607a(b) imposes upon the INDIVIDUAL OFFICER the obligation to receive the training. In other words, it is ultimately up to the officer to ensure that he/she receives the required training. However, KSA 74-5617(g) requires the officer’s agency to provide the opportunity to receive training; in other words, the agency must take reasonable steps to allow its officers the opportunity to obtain the required number of training hours.

What do I do if I do not meet the 40 hour requirement by June 30th?

Any full-time officer who does not meet the 40 hour training requirement by June 30th will need to write a request for extension letter to the Executive Director.

Does video training count towards the requirement?

Video training may count towards partial satisfaction of the training requirement. All video training is classified as media training. Only 20 hours of media training may be applied toward satisfaction of the training requirement. All video training must meet the following requirements:

  • the agency head, or their designee, approves such training in advance and the training is directly related to law enforcement,

  • Viewing of the video, film or disc occurs in a classroom setting. Videos cannot be viewed at the officer’s home and be counted as training,

  • A training coordinator or other department official is present to facilitate discussion or answer questions. A training coordinator need not be present if a post-viewing objective-based examination that covers the instructional material is administered to the student by the agency head and/or their designee, or administered via computer, and the student has no access to the examination or the computer system to affect, alter, or destroy the examination questions or examination results,

  • The student achieves a minimum passing score of 70% or above on a post-viewing examination, scored by the agency head, their designee, or the computer. A passing score of 70% or above is required before the training hour(s) received may be applied toward partial satisfaction of the in-service training requirement.

  • all post-viewing examinations administered, and their results, shall be maintained by the agency for five years from the date the examination was administered. These records shall be made available for inspection upon request.

I took a class that started in June but ended in July.  Which training year will those hours count for?

Updated - The database currently credits training hours for a course by the course start date. If a training course extended over two training years, it is possible to report this as two separate courses. This would ensure that the hours earned in each training year were applied for the appropriate year.

For example, an officer took a course that lasted from 6/30/2017-7/2/2017. This course should be reported as two separate courses. The hours earned on 6/30/2017 should be counted toward the 2017 training year, and the hours earned from 7/1/2017-7/2/2017 should be counted toward the 2018 training year.

If there is any question on how to report a course, you may email training@kscpost.org.

Can I enter my training hours online?

To enter training hours online, an officer must be approved by the agency head for such entry and take the online data entry training course.  If you are interested in taking the online data entry course, you may visit KLETC’s website and click on “Training Events” to see when the next course is available.

Can credit from college courses fulfill the training requirement?

University, college or community college credits earned may be applied toward satisfaction of the annual in-service requirement if:

  • They are earned during the applicable training year;

  • They are earned in subjects related directly to law enforcement;

  • They are earned from an accredited institution; and

  • They are earned with the agency head’s approval.

Such credits will be counted as 15 hours of training per semester credit hour earned. For example, an officer who receives credit for a three hour course in Juvenile Delinquency should be credited with 45 in-service hours. Obviously, such credit would entirely satisfy the officer’s in-service training requirement for that year.

Are there any courses that I am required to take?

All law enforcement officers are required to take a Bias Based Policing course once every training year. There is currently no hour requirement for such training.

FIREARMS

Can an officer qualify himself or herself for firearms training if he or she is teaching the course?

All officers must qualify under a designated rangemaster or instructor other than themselves.

I have received training hours for qualifying for firearms. Why does the training website say that I haven’t qualified yet?

Firearms qualification and receiving credit for firearms training need to be reported on two separate forms. To receive credit for firearms training, an officer must complete a Training Report form and mark the classification “firearms” and provide all the necessary information. To qualify for firearms, an officer must complete the Firearms Qualification Report . Even though an officer only has to qualify once annually for firearms, he or she can have up to 16 hours of firearms training counted towards fulfillment of the 40 hours training requirement.

What counts as firearms training?

Any range course that counts toward qualification is considered firearms training. Additional training that includes more advanced exercises can be classified as “unclassified” training.


FORMS

Can a new Police Chief sign the “Notice of Termination or Status Change” form for the departing Police Chief?

The “Notice of Termination or Status Change” form, must be signed by the Agency Head or Appointing Authority, as stated on the form. The appointing authority for the Police Chief is the individual who has the authority to hire or terminate the Police Chief, such as the City Manager, City Administrator, Mayor, etc. For example: A Police Chief is resigning from an agency. The Police Chief’s “Notice of Termination or Status Change” form must be signed by the City Manager, City Administrator, Mayor, etc. The form will not be accepted if the form is signed by the Chief’s replacement and will be returned to the agency for correction.

Can an incoming or promoted Police Chief sign his or her own “Demographic and Employment Information” form or “Notice of Termination or Status Change” form?

If a “Demographic and Employment Information” form is completed for an incoming Police Chief or a “Notice of Termination or Status Change” form is completed for an officer’s rank change to Police Chief, it must be signed by the City Manager, City Administrator, Mayor, etc. The form will not be accepted if it is signed by the incoming Police Chief and will be returned to the agency for correction.


WEBSITE (WWW.KSCPOST.ORG)

Why does the website look funny on my computer?

This can be caused by two separate issues. First, check the text size under the View option in the menu bar. This website is best viewed on the medium text size setting, but the text size can be adjusted for accessibility purposes.

This website is also designed to be viewable best at 1024X768 pixels and above. This is to be compatible with a wider range of monitor resolutions. If you are having problems viewing the site, you might want to try adjusting your resolution to 1024X768. To do this on Windows 7 and above:

1) Right click on your desktop, and left click on "Screen Resolution".

2) Click on the "Resolution" drop down menu and scroll until you reach "1024x768".

3) Click "OK"

ONLINE AGENCY QUESTIONS

NOTE: The following information applies to ONLINE AGENCIES ONLY.

An officer is on the online roster for training and he/she doesn’t work here anymore. What do I do?

If an officer is listed on the online roster for training and the officer is no longer employed for your agency, it is possible the officer hasn’t ever been disassociated with the agency where he/she was once employed. Please complete and submit a Status Change form to the KS·CPOST.

Where do I go to enter training online?

For those who have attended the data entry course and were provided with a username and password, you can enter training by typing https://training.kscpost.net into your address bar. This is also available under the "Training > Central Registry Database" option in the menu above.

When is the next available class for Online Entry?

Since KS·CPOST has moved to a new database program, we are currently developing a new training course. It is the goal of KS·CPOST to make this training available online. After completion of the training, the personnel authorized for data entry will be issued login information. Please check back for further updates.

 

Updated August 9, 2017

HOME        CERTIFICATION       CONTACT       FIREARMS         REPORT FORMS          OTHER INFORMATION          TRAINING